Rob Schoelkopf Appointed Member of the National Quantum Initiative Advisory Committee

December 9, 2022

December 9, 2022—Today, in a Statement, President Biden advanced the National Quantum Initiative by appointing fifteen experts in quantum information science to the National Quantum Initiative Advisory Committee (NQIAC):

  • Dr. Kathryn Ann Moler, Co-Chair
  • Dr. Charles G. Tahan, Co-Chair
  • Dr. Jamil Abo-Shaeer, Member
  • Dr. Fred Chong, Member
  • Dr. James S. Clarke, Member
  • Dr. Deborah Ann Frincke, Member
  • Gilbert V. Herrera, Member
  • Dr. Nadya Mason, Member
  • Dr. William D. Oliver, Member
  • Dr. John Preskill, Member
  • Dr. Mark B. Ritter, Member
  • Dr. Robert J. Schoelkopf, Member
  • Dr. Krysta M. Svore, Member
  • Dr. Jun Ye, Member
  • Dr. Jinliu Wang, Member

The National Quantum Initiative is a whole-of-government program to ensure continued U.S. leadership in quantum information science, which includes potentially revolutionary technologies such as quantum computers, quantum networks, and quantum sensors, which are expected to exceed classical capabilities. The Biden-Harris Administration has identified quantum information science as a critical and emerging technology. For example, at the signing of the CHIPS and Science Act of 2022, President Biden highlighted quantum computing, saying that “increased research and development funding is going to ensure the United States leads the world in the industries of the future — from quantum computing, to artificial intelligence, to advanced biotechnology.”

Read full press release, here.